Monday, November 23, 2009

Find My Family

Anybody else dreading this ABC show? Even the commercials....we find ourselves trying to avoid.

Saturday, November 21, 2009


* Denial (this isn't happening to me!)
* Anger (why is this happening to me?)
* Bargaining (I promise I'll be a better person if...)
* Depression (I don't care anymore)
* Acceptance (I'm ready for whatever comes)

Above, is a list of the widely accepted stages of grief as defined by Elizabeth Kubler- Ross.

Dr. Roberta Temes goes on to describe three types of behavior recognizable in those who are dealing with grief and loss.

* Numbness (mechanical functioning and social insulation)
* Disorganization (intensely painful feelings of loss)
* Reorganization (re-entry into a more 'normal' social life.)

Where do our kids currently find themselves on the spectrum?

Where do we currently find ourselves?

Has there been growth?

Has there been healing?

Be encouraged.

Get A Life

That sounds rude, doesn't it? I mean it in the best most kindest, most sisterly-motherly -girlfriendily....most encouraging way possible.

Dealing with attachment (whatever stage we're in...however far along we've come or not come)...can be all consuming. It can occupy our every waking moment. Our every thought. Our every decision.

I know how tempting it is to make all of life be all about this one thing.

Do not allow yourself to do it.

Get a hobby. Pick up an interest. Paint, sew, cook, exercise, read, work with yarn, work with beads, study, sing, dance, rent some films, travel, snap photos, blog about other things...our choices are endless.

But....without doubt.... we must choose to remove attachment work from the high and almighty royal throne on which it sometimes likes to plop it's I reign above all things stinkin' fat ass.

Tuesday, November 3, 2009